You are here
Home > Latest Posts > Devices > Symbian Devices > 808 Pureview > 808 PureView compared with Samsung Galaxy camera. Images and Video comparison.

808 PureView compared with Samsung Galaxy camera. Images and Video comparison.

This is one compariosn which caught fancy of many when Samsung has announced the “Samsung galaxy Camera” reportedly based on Galaxy SIII. Now CJ at “Unleash the phones” have done a comparison of Samsung Galaxy Camera with 808 PureView and posted many pictures and even a video shot by both the devices. First some impressions and conclusion from him,

  • Galaxy Camera had a lot of trouble focusing when fully zoomed in, compared to the PureView. Ofcourse this is early software on the Galaxy Camera but it’s worth noting. It zooms in a lot further than the PureView does, but it’s also a lot rougher and slower to zoom in compared to the PureView, which makes it generally feel clunkier.
  • Samsung Android UI is nice, and while it doesnt let you tinker with the camera’s settings as much as the PureView does (suprisingly) there’s fun stuff like onboard filters that you can use.
  • Camera quality is okay, though overall operation is a little slow, even compared to the PureView which only has a single core vs the quad core on the Galaxy Cam.
  • Sharing images is easier on the Galaxy Camera because of Android’s nice implementation in the gallery, while on the PureView you’re somewhat limited to Facebook and Flickr from the gallery, but obviously there are ways to get your pictures off your camera if you really want to.

CJ further says, still the PureView is the best camera phone you can get right now, because it is. The Galaxy Camera is nice and all, but for the price you could get an actual camera with way better specs instead of opting for this one, which you have to admit, has okay/average results at best. If you choose a PureView, you probably want a slim (ish) phone that is always there with you, that you can take out and take a picture of your friends any time, any where.With the Galaxy camera, you still have a bulky camera, that is another accessory to carry along with your phone.

Our opinion:

Some of our readers have asked for our view regarding this image quality comparison. Our opinion is that in image quality of 808 PureView is slightly better than Samsung galaxy Camera. It has got much better level of details thanks to PureView technology. There you go then. 808 PureView still rules the roost being solid smartphone, awesome camera with lossless zoom and DSLR level image quality and with amazing portability.

Time to check the compariosn pictures and Video,

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

SAM_0068

Nokia 808 PureView:

2012-09-01-2490

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

SAM_0070

Nokia 808 PureView:

2012-09-01-2494

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

SAM_0071

Nokia 808 PureView:

2012-09-01-2496

Zoomed all the way in across the show floor:

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

SAM_0080

Nokia 808 PureView:

2012-09-01-2498

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

SAM_0083

Nokia 808 PureView:

2012-09-01-2499

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

SAM_0084

Nokia 808 PureView:

2012-09-01-2500

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

SAM_0086

Nokia 808 PureView:

2012-09-01-2503

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

SAM_0087

Nokia 808 PureView:

2012-09-01-2505

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

SAM_0088

Nokia 808 PureView:

2012-09-01-2509

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

SAM_0089

Nokia 808 PureView:

2012-09-01-2506

Samsung Galaxy Camera:

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6EL1o9s7XXM]

Nokia 808 PureView (at 720p):

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptyzPpVt5uE&feature=player_embedded]

Source

Advertisements
Nayan

Nayan has more than 10 years of experience of covering Technology and innovations. He is a big Nokia fan and Tech disruptions aficionado. He loves to review new cool gadgets and writing about Android, iOS, Gadgets and general Technology stuff. He has been associated with other well-known Tech sites WinCentral and GadgetOx since long.

He currently sports a Lumia 950 XL and Nexus 5X. Other interests include listening to Nu-Metal Hits and Kick-Boxing.
Write to him at Email: [email protected]

http://www.nokiapoweruser.com
  • PereView es el que manda..

  • Yarida Slywin

    ..i think the galaxy camera’s advantage here is the 21x optical zoom, which PureView technology has less lossless zoom on 8mp mode, IMHO, enough for an average user. Still, Nokia 808 rocks.. 😀

    • But zoom is one of the features of any good camera. Size, Image Quality, flexibility of use, Manual control in all these aspects 808 PureView is superior 🙂 Also you get great camera, audio recording, dolby digital quailty music player, solid smartphone in one package !!

      • knowfirst

        and the rich recording is awesome and galaxy cam cant do it and who know what the next gen pureview will have 🙂

  • torcida

    PureView is THE thing!! 🙂

  • 808 is better,,,at least, judging on the pictures above..

  • knowfirst

    🙂 am reading this mobile 🙁 so its a pain to click every image and compare every image quality, so i’ve asked you, anyway if possible give ur conclusion too from next posts, i mean everyone likes it when admin tells his conclusion and its just my thought… oh and then pureview defeats galaxy camera? what a waste for samsung..

    • Actually, when we tend to give our conclusion we try doing a comparison ourselves. That takes into account many factors. For example check our 808 Pureview vs N8 shootout.Here we are represnting comparison from another source, so better stick with their conclusion.But, visually yes 808 Pureview is still better in image quality.

      Anyways, we updated the article with our opinion :). thanks for pointing it out.

  • knowfirst

    and what is conclusion? Pureview quality(image) or galaxy camera quality?

    • That’s left to the readers :). But depth of details wise 808 is better.

Top